June 17, 2024
Morocco: HM King Mohammed VI appoints new government “Akhannouch”
Featured MENA News News Politics

Morocco: HM King Mohammed VI appoints new government “Akhannouch”

The party of Aziz Akhannouch, a businessman described as close to the Palace, raided the House of Representatives during the September 8 legislative elections, grabbing 102 of the 395 seats and democratically dislodging the Islamists through the ballot box, in power for a decade. A first in the Arab-Muslim world, hailed by business circles, here and elsewhere.

Thus, in the lead in the legislative elections of September 8, the three parties of the government majority – the RNI (National Rally of Independents), the PAM (Party of Authenticity and Modernity), both of liberal tendency, and the old Party of Istiqlal (PI, center-right) – shared ministerial posts. The holders of sovereign ministries are renewed (see list).

However, National Education, in search of reform, falls to the current ambassador of Morocco in France, Chakib Benmoussa. This former Minister of the Interior is also chairman of the commission, mandated by the King, which drew up the “New Development Model (NMD)”, a political pact establishing the socio-economic priorities of the kingdom. In fact, this Akhannouch government’s roadmap aims to respond to the slowdown in growth and reduce the deep inequalities that hit Morocco, a legacy of the Islamist government. It aims to double the GDP per capita by 2035, according to official reports.

The government program will be presented to Parliament for the vote of confidence. In principle a simple formality.

The new Executive is made up of 24 ministers, including 7 unveiled Muslim women, against four in the outgoing Islamist government. Here is the full list.

– Head of government: Aziz Akhannouch (RNI)

– Ministry of the Interior: Abdelouafi Laftit (reappointed)

– Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation: Nasser Bourita (reappointed)

– Ministry of Habous and Islamic Affairs: Ahmed Taoufiq (reappointed)

– Secretary General of the Government: Mohamed Hajoui (reappointed)

– Ministry of Justice: Abdellatif Ouahbi (PAM)

– Ministry of Economy and Finance: Nadia Fettah Alaoui (RNI)

– Minister Delegate to the Minister of Finance in charge of the budget: Faouzi Lakjaâ (PAM)

– Ministry of Agriculture, Maritime Fisheries, Rural Development and Water and Forests: Mohamed Sadiki (RNI)

– Ministry of Industry and Trade: Ryad Mezzour (PI)

– Ministry of Equipment and Water: Nizar Baraka (PI)

– Ministry of Transport and Logistics: Mohamed Abdeljalil (RNI)

– Ministry of Tourism, Handicrafts and Social and Solidarity Economy: Fatima Zahra Ammor (RNI)

– Ministry of Economic Inclusion, Small Business, Employment and Skills: Younes Sekkouri (PAM)

– Ministry of National Education, Preschool and Sports: Chakib Benmoussa (SAP)

– Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation: Abdellatif Miraoui (PAM)

– Ministry of Youth, Culture and Communication: Mehdi Bensaïd (PAM)

– Ministry of Women, Family and Social Integration: Awatif Khyar (PI)

– Ministry of Housing and Urban Policy: Fatima Ezzahra El Mansouri (PAM)

– Ministry of Health and Social Protection: Nabila Rmili (RNI)

– Ministry of Energy Transition and Sustainable Development: Leïla Benali (RNI)

– Minister Delegate to the Head of Government in charge of Digital Transition and Administrative Reform: Ghita Mezzour (PI)

– Minister Delegate to the Head of Government in charge of Relations with Parliament, government spokesperson: Mustapha Baitas (RNI)

– Minister Delegate to the Head of Government in charge of Investment, Convergence and the Evaluation of Public Policies: Mohcine Jazouli (SAP)

– Minister Delegate to the Head of Government in charge of the National Defense Administration: Abdellatif Loudiy (reappointed)

The Akhannouch government was appointed in a ceremony chaired by King Mohammed VI at the Royal Palace in Fez, accompanied by Crown Prince Moulay El Hassan and Prince Moulay Rachid.

Secretaries of state in certain ministerial departments will be appointed later.

On this occasion, the newly appointed members of the government were sworn in before the Sovereign.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *